When it comes to drinking and driving, did you know that many countries have laws that are more strict than U.S. law? In Japan, it is illegal to drive with any alcohol in your system. In several European countries, blood alcohol content (BAC) limits range between .02 and .05 percent. Here in Connecticut, the legal limit is .08 percent. However, some studies have shown that drivers with a .08 BAC are already almost three times more likely to have a drunk driving accident.
This means that families are in serious danger if they are sharing the road with someone who has been drinking. Because of this risk, our Hartford drunk driving accident attorneys want to help. If you or a family member suffer an injury due to a drunk driver, here are the rights you need to know about.
What Are Connecticut’s Laws About Drunk Driving?
As mentioned before, a driver with a BAC of .08 percent or higher cannot legally drive a motor vehicle in Connecticut. If a person drives a commercial vehicle, the limit is .04 percent. The penalties for driving while under the influence vary depending on the circumstances. These punishments can include:
- Suspended driver’s license
- Community service
- Jail time
If a driver crashes or causes an accident and his or her BAC is over .08 percent, the law considers them negligent. It does not matter how they were driving before a crash. This is due to the fact that they already broke the law by driving under the influence. Connecticut courts also consider these drivers liable for any damage they cause.
However, other parties may be responsible as well. Connecticut dram shop laws can hold a drinking establishment responsible if they serve alcohol to a drunk driver. And a vehicle owner who knowingly let a drunk driver behind the wheel of their vehicle may also hold some liability. This gives the injured several options when it comes to recovering compensation. The recovery of punitive damages in addition to physical and emotional damages may be possible.
What Happens After a Drunk Driving Accident?
After a crash, you should always seek medical attention for yourself and others involved in the crash. If you suspect the other driver was drinking, call the authorities immediately. The police will check the other driver’s BAC, write a report and potentially charge the individual with a DUI. These actions will provide vital evidence for any lawsuit you may file.
How Can the Injured Recover Compensation?
When it comes to drunk driving accidents, there can be criminal and civil proceedings. Criminal prosecution sees that the drunk driver faces justice under the law. Civil prosecution seeks to make those injured by the drunk driver whole again.
Here at Polinsky Law Group LLC, we help individuals injured by drunk drivers. We can help with the complex paperwork, gathering of evidence and filing deadlines. If you suffered an injury, these tasks may be too much to bear. Let our experienced team help you and your family recover from these difficult times. Call (860) 253-2729 to learn more about how we can help after a drunk driving accident.